Update

Oh hey blog, long time no see.

I’m still working on a follow-up post to that last one. In the meantime, here’s what’s going on with me:

-Working with my urologist to see if my congenital kidney issue is in fact getting worse. After 2 imaging tests, it turns out it’s not getting worse…yet. Just another fun condition that I have to keep monitoring for the rest of my life and will possibly require surgery at some nebulous time in the future.

-Trying to find a mental health provider that is familiar with SPD/ASD in adults AND takes Medicaid (I anticipate this taking a while).

-Continuing with my occupational therapy for SPD.

-Working with my GP to find out if my sound sensitivity has a physical cause versus a neurological cause. Her preliminary diagnosis is Eustachian Tube Dysfunction (i.e. I have fluid buildup behind my eardrums), but a referral to an ENT/audiologist will give me some more details.

-Tutoring 3 students until the end of the school year, 2 in high school and 1 in middle school. Pay and hours are crap, but it pays the student loans and prevents the dreaded “resume gap”. And I guess it’s also good for experience in general. So, it’s something.

-Trying to incorporate all the changes my OT and I come up with consistently in every day life (transitioning into me cooking dinner instead of my fiance more often has been very helpful).

-Volunteering at my sensory processing therapy center and at the library.

-Job shadowing various PT/OT clinics and researching PT/OT graduate programs.

-Listing out other potential career choices, keeping in mind my sensory needs.

-Coming up with other activities that are productive (i.e. not Facebook) but don’t aggravate my physical issues (bye bye knitting, it was nice for the 15 years it lasted).

-Learning to advocate for my sensory needs in all variety of situations (such a constant, delicate balancing act).

-Joined the Autistic Gaming Initiative, despite knowing next to nothing about Twitch/streaming video games in general. The community has been very supportive so far, and even though it’s a learning curve to get started, it’s one that I’m looking forward to (I suppose caring greatly about the cause probably helps).

Most of the time, even though I know that I’m doing what’s best for me and my body, progress feels agonizingly slow. My OT says that this is actually a good thing. If I were to make sweeping, dramatic changes, it’s very likely that they wouldn’t stick long-term. That’s just not how the brain works. The key to making significant life changes as an adult with SPD is small, incremental steps. When I take the time to actually sit down and think about it, I really have made some tremendous progress. It’s just been over the last 3, 6, even 12 months. It’s easy to be blind to the progress we make when it happens slowly.

So, that’s where I am at the moment. Still feels like I’m on a crazy roller coaster about to be launched out of my seat any second, but at least I’ve ridden it a few times now so I know where the particularly wild sections are and can tighten my grip in those spots.

Update

Leave a Reply

